everyone needs a procrastination/cramming essay topic sometime.

There are days when I think that Procrastination and Cramming should have its’ own separate subject; I know I’d definitely ace that one. There’s also something amusing by saying “My major is all about _______, but I also have a PHD in procrastination and cramming.” There are just so many more interesting things that could be done that doesn’t involve reading lessons that don’t really grab you. While the ideal student would find a way to make the subject matter more interesting (whether it be to create humorous notes or comics just to remember key facts, acronyms, all sorts of fun mnemonics) many fall prey to the little horned creature telling them it can be done later, it’s only “six o’clock and you can do it after a nap, or after dinner, or after you blow off some steam playing…” and before you know it, there’s only a few hours left between you and deadline. Getting hyped up on a huge pot of coffee or a combination of sweets, or even eating spice to keep awake and battle through the haze all for the purpose of getting a passing grade is common.

As much as I would like to say that I’m one of those lovely people that moodle about all day, then stay up all night with a pot of black tea and get something stellar and magnificent done, I’m not a pressure cooker that can create a diamond. My diamonds are inspired by the moment, and they aren’t in abundance either.

There’s the adrenaline rush, the excitement of forcing your mind to memorize, the fear of not being able to do well and the thoughts of “W-what is sleep?” looping round the brain. But there’s also the point where everything goes black and no thoughts come, everything worth thinking of, all the energy spent was killed so long ago by goblins hiding in the house. The times when you wonder why you didn’t do it sooner, then remember that sometimes it’s useful to place a topical anesthetic before doing the painful job students are paid (in allowances) to do: study, feel the pressure, snap at each other and apologize profusely afterwards and find solace with other students suffering from the exact same situation.

Darn demons and goblins, always distracting me when I want to be a model student! I have full respect for the students that have stronger wills and actually study before they play–I’d want to join that club, but first, let me play a few games…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment